Skip to content

James Blake is Amazing and I love Folk.

January 10, 2012

Word. Time to stop sharing all these on Facebook and put them into a list.

James Blake – Pretty much obsessed with him lately. Lindisfarne is my favorite song by far. It’s really chill, and the altered vocals are pretty cool. The music video is super weird, but I think most of it is cool (minus the spit part). Blake’s whole self titled album is pretty sick, notably Limit to Your Love, and The Wilhelm Scream. Check it out for sure.

Harry and Alfie – These guys are one of my new favorite YouTubers. They are pretty folky, and the main singer, Alfie, has a really unique voice.

The Tallest Man on Earth- Now, I have know about this guy for a while. But, as I was telling a friend, he is one of those artists that I knew I would like a lot, especially after listening to him for a while. I just never felt like spending time going through all of his work. Don’t judge. Well, one of his songs snuck into my Spotfiy Radio, and here we are.

James Vincent McMorrow – I found this guy as a similar artist to James Blake, but I don’t really agree with that at all. He is a lot more similar to Tallest Man on Earth, with a smoother voice. Oh, and if you couldn’t tell by now, I’m on a folk binge.

And here is his cover of Wicked Games. This is great

Bernhoft – Found this guy from my YouTube subscription to SoulKitchen. This guy is a one man band, with a very funk/soul vibe. Pretty impressive and catchy stuff.


James Van Ronk – Ending this like Folk Run is James Van Ronk. This is a pretty old song, and has a very bluesy/folk feel to it. Its pretty gritty and I love it.  Found this song from First Aid Kit , who post Spotify playlists every now and then. This gem was in their January 2012 playlist.

Rizzle Kicks – Switching gears a bit is this indie/rap band Rizzle Kicks. Just heard this song yesterday so I haven’t had time to really get more info. Enjoy!

Well, that’s all I have for now. I made a Spotfiy Playlist with most of these songs on it, plus a few more for anyone interested. Rizzle Kicks and Harry and Alfie unfortunately are not on Spotify. Anyways, here you go.

CaseyJerk 1/10

I’ll probably do a non music update later this week.

As always, any music suggestions are welcome!

CaseyJerk

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2012 4:48 pm

    Yeay, I was actually looking for new songs to listen, and that fits perfectly !
    Talking about Youtubers, you light know them :http://www.youtube.com/user/walkofftheearth#p/c/28C14FA6792ADCB4/23/d9NF2edxy-M
    and the song they are cxovering is pretty cool too (Australian singer)

    • caseyjerk permalink*
      January 10, 2012 5:30 pm

      That video is really cool! and I love the original song as well. Have you checked out Kimbra much? The singer from the original song? She is really good too. thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

