Skip to content

First Aid Kit, The Asteroids Galaxy Tour, Roufaida & Pluck, and more!

February 2, 2012

Honestly, since I started using Spotify on a daily basis, I have found like 20 new favorite bands. My love for music has been revived and I have been on a crazy spree. I found new YouTube accounts, and new awesome singers. Hope you guys like some of these bands as much as I do!

First Aid Kit – So, First Aid Kit has really become one of my top favorite bands. Ever. I loved their first album(s)/ep’s, and their new album The Lion’s Roar is no exception. Their folky, carefree, yet heavy songs are awesome. These two girls have amazing voices and the harmonies they can create are amazing. When I listen to First Aid Kit, I feel like I am reminded of how music should be. The first video below is one of their singles “Emmylou”. The second video is of the girls performing Dancing Barefoot for Patti Smith at the Polar Music Prize Award Ceremony in Stockholm. This performance is awesome, and it really shows how much Patti Smith has influenced First Aid Kit. Also, it was great to see how touched Patti was at the performance.


Asteroid Galaxy Tour – You may have heard the Asteroid Galaxy Tour song “The Golden Age” from that Heineken commercial . I really like the lead singers voice – it’s really light and has interesting intonation. I also really like the sort of fun, retro 70′s feel of their music. I’m seeing them in concert on Friday, so I’ve been listening to as many songs of theirs as I can. Here is the music video new single “Heart Attack”. If you want to listen to their new album, check it out here on their site.


Roufaida & Pluck – This dutch band is one of my new obsessions. I don’t know too much about them yet, but I saw the video below and instantly fell in love. The second video is what got them noticed – from what I gather they made this video and song, and won some Dutch High School (yes, these girls are in high school), competition. Roufaida & Pluck don’t have an EP out yet, but I really look forward to hearing more from them. Like them on Facebook and keep up with them!


Little Dragon – This band has been around for few years, but I first heard them a little while ago in the song Wildfire by SBTRKT (which is an awesome song). I love main singers voice, she has a sort of R&B, smooth/sweet voice that is just really nice to listen to. I was really surprised when I saw what the main singer looks like too. I wont ruin it here, so listen to the song:


and now take a look at the lead singer.

Azealia Banks – Now, for something completely different. This song has been stuck in my head for a few days now. It’s pretty dirty, but I love the way Azealia talks/raps, and the beat is really catchy.


Die Antwoord – Remember when I covered these guys a while back? Well they are back with a new album, and a really bizarre new video. But the beat is catchy, and I do love the South African accent. Side note: apparently these guys are “fake” in the sense that they aren’t ghetto kids from South Africa, but rather normal kids from South Africa? Whatever, I still think they are wicked weird if they produce videos like this:

That’s all for music for now. But what about Lana Del Ray guys? Maybe the failure of her album will help her write and perform songs that she actually feels, instead of performing like a Lana Del Robot.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 24, 2012 5:14 pm

    Heineken Commercial SongLIKE it LOL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

