Skip to content

Luck

March 4, 2010

I love talking about Luck. What is Luck? Is it real? Do certain people have more of it than others? Why? Can you increase your Luck?

Photo by kaibara87

I think about these questions a lot, because I consider myself lucky. But what does it mean to be “lucky”? (By now the workd luck must sound weird right? Semantic Saturation.) Anyways, I don’t think luck is something you are born with, but rather something you learn to acquire. I think being lucky has to do with the type of attitude you have in life, along with the ability to place yourself in situations where something “lucky” can happen to you.

Lets take for example what happened to me on New Years Day. After a night of celebrating, me and my two friends had a train to catch for Amsterdam in the morning at 8:55. We needed to take the metro to get there, and even though it should take 30 minutes to get there, there was a problem along the way, and we had to take a big roundabout route to get to the train station. We made it to the station 3 floors below the train platform at 8:50. Frantic, we ran up the escalators, through the turn-styles, and finally made it onto the train (panting, feeling sick, lugging huge backpacks) 1 minute before it was scheduled to leave.

Now, there are two different reactions that I could have had. I could have said oh what horrible luck I had! The stupid metro here sucks blah blah blah. Or I could have said wow, we are SO lucky that we made it considering what we went through and how close we were. I took the latter reaction. So in this situation, I kept a positive attitude, and in addition, I had put myself in this situation to succeed. I could have given up at any point and said “there is no way we will make it”. But the important thing was that I didn’t do that!

So, luck is what you make of it. Kind of like voodoo, if you believe in it, it can affect you. (note: I don’t believe in voodoo so don’t anyone get any ideas out there!). You can increase your luck by training yourself to be positive and find situations that put you in a good position to be lucky!

I read this article about luck, and I think it is very interesting and brings up very good points.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/3304496/Be-lucky-its-an-easy-skill-to-learn.html

So in the end, i’m not lucky that I have luck, I have luck because I make it! What do you think about luck? I’d love to hear.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ex-wife88 permalink
    March 4, 2010 3:25 pm

    I read this book 2 years ago and since then discovered the same than you: that Luck is something you have to fight for. You can never give up, you can never fall without standing up again. It is the only way to be Lucky.

    I think it is the same for Happiness. What is Happiness? I think it is the addition of very small, or very big, pieces of Happy moments, Happy things. Smile to people, give them a piece of a Happy moment. And you will both be closer to Happiness

    Casey, you are so smart!!!

  2. caseyjerk permalink*
    March 4, 2010 3:51 pm

    As soon as I master the spanish language, I will have to read it!

    And I totally agree with you about happiness! You have a great outlook on life🙂

  3. March 4, 2010 4:48 pm

    hi casey,

    wow what an insightful post. I’m so glad i happened to stumble upon it. I do agree with you completely though, depending on how you look at situations determines whether you believe you were lucky or not.
    casey..you are so smart!

  4. Max permalink
    March 4, 2010 5:17 pm

    I was just reading this…

    http://www.mindpowernews.com/MakeYourOwnLuck.htm

    creepy…

  5. steve sadangle permalink
    March 4, 2010 11:47 pm

    my pops always said ‘luck is when opportunity meets preparation’

    i agree with your point about perspective of luck (any event can be seen as lucky/unlucky). but it might take like 40 years to see the end result…

    when you saw the metros were wacked: bad luck
    when you barely caught the train: good luck
    when the train derails and crashes: bad luck you caught the train
    when you meet your future wife in the hospital: it was all a string of good luck
    when she divorces you and gets more than half b/c her lawyer is better than yours: it was really all bad luck in the end

    etc.

    so dont count your luck too soon. or whatever.

    about making luck. thats bullshit. luck eventually evens out, its purely statistical. thats the whole point of luck: completely random blind arbitrary 50/50 events. so if you ever find yourself saying “wow i generally have really good luck”, no, you have the same statistical luck, but you just ball out more than other people, so it looks like you have better luck. but really, you are just a baller.

    and really, you are just a baller.

Leave a Reply

