Skip to content

Why can’t everyone just get along?

March 18, 2010

But seriously, why? I understand that there are people you may not like, and there are fights that need to and will happen but in general, why can’t everyone just grow up and be civil? This has nothing to do with anyone doing anything to me, I am just sick of hearing things like racial/sexual/religion issues and crimes.

Look, even this tiger can get along with a monkey.                                       Photo fromYvonne in Willowick Ohio

Currently its the whole equal rights for gays issue. I feel like deep down everyone knows that gays are going to get equal rights, but they still keep fighting. I know this is a huge issue, and there are many sides and arguments, but come on people – it is 2010. We have gone through abolishing slavery and women’s suffrage, and this is just the next thing. Let’s just skip to the end where the right thing eventually is done, and everyone is happy.

I love hearing all of the Bible related reasons against gay people marrying.  For every quote there is in the bible against homosexual relationships, there is a quote that says something ludicrous, like women can’t speak in public forums, or you can’t cross breed animals (like two dogs). Haha I just think it is funny. Also, this was a really interesting article: bascially Prop 8 supporters claim same-sex marriage is bad, but can’t say why. Click here to read the excerpt. Its a little long, but really interesting.

I don’t get what the whole deal is anyways. Everyone is born different, and you can’t judge them for that. You can support gay marriage and be straight, I am. Anyone who thinks otherwise doesn’t know what they are talking about.

Anyways, just a little rambling. I say accept people for who they are and what they believe. You don’t have to agree with it, or support it, but at least respect it!

What do you think? Support equal rights/same sex marriage? If not, why?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    March 18, 2010 6:52 pm

    “accept people for who they are and what they believe. You don’t have to agree with it, or support it, but at least respect it!”
    unfortunately this has to be applied to the very people you don’t understand as well.
    just as you can’t fathom how somebody can think they way they do, it is very much the same on the other side of the spectrum.
    as we are all products of our surroundings, some people just don’t understand how we can feel the way we do about equal rights.

  2. caseyjerk permalink*
    March 18, 2010 7:02 pm

    I just totally deleted my comment. Long day and I didn’t really reply correctly at all.

    I guess that is the hard part about this whole situation isn’t it. I think that the other people are wrong, they think that we are wrong. I guess in the end it is whoever can back up their argument the best who deserves to win, and so far, on the subject of equal rights, I haven’t really heard/seen any good arguments as to why there should be no same sex marriage.

  3. anonymous permalink
    March 19, 2010 12:27 pm

    I agree with Casey. For a long time I was against gay marriage. My thinking was it wasn’t natural. A man and a man, or a woman and a woman. But after having gay next door neighbors and getting to know a lot of gay woman I see a different side of the hatred there is to gays! It’s all in peoples mind that gays are terrible, sinners and bad role models. Ask yourself this “would you rather have a child grow up with a loving gay couple who will love and give this child a loving house or would you rather have this child grow up in an abusive house and intern continue to be abusive in there adulthood. I pick the gay family. I am not saying that all heterosexual marriages are abusive but there are statistics that show that a child being raised by a gay couple has a better chance at a normal life than that of and abusive heterosexual couple. When I say normal I mean growing up not being a thief or murderer or a bad egg. As far as the bible goes it is just a book through someone’s eyes on how to live life. For some people this book rules their life. Too people like me its “How to live your life book” with suggestions on how to live your life. Now, I know not to cheat on my wife (and I haven’t) or kill somebody or steal or lie (white lies sometimes) so why do I need a book for this. You need good parenting which is what I got and try to give to my kids. If they learn the basics of life then they will turn out fine. This is where gay parents come in. In my opinion if given the option I would rather have gay parents whom want and love me, than abusive ones that could give a shit about me. And if two people who love each other for the same reasons as heterosexual people do than where’s the problem? We should worry about our own problems and stay out of other peoples !!!!!!Live life for yourself, and not let someone who wrote a best seller (the bible) do it for you!!! I have a question: after Adam and Eve had their kids where did the other people come from? If it was from them then this to me is incest. Against the bible, isn’t it??? Or the bible is just convenience, whatever is good for the moment. Priest who molest but are move to different parishes to hide them!! Its ok for them but anyone else is punished (rightfully so)!!Ministers who cheat with there assistance, or Rabbis, who illegally gamble, and also cheat on there wife’s. Muslims who kill for their god but they are told not to kill by their god. Religion is good, if that is what it takes for you to be a better person. Everybody is different and should be respected as such!!!!!

Leave a Reply

