Skip to content

Covers – How I love you (Week 1)

March 26, 2010

Covers as in musical covers – not blankets (although those are pretty sweet too).

So, I am a big youtuber – I just love watching videos, finding new stuff, discovering talent.  A big part of the time I spend on youtube is listening to covers of music, which my previous roommates can attest too.

“Why don’t you ever just listen to the real song?” – Sarah. Haha, well I am going to answer the question. I do of course listen to the original songs, but I find that listening to covers can really give you new appreciation for both the song and the person who created the cover. So, I figured I would do a weekly round up of covers of songs that I found to be awesome. Mostly, I enjoy youtube artists who are playing their own music, and who can really add something to the song – acoustic covers make me happy!

I was a little torn between posting multiple covers of one song, or just a variety of covers. I decided that because most of you aren’t like me, you wouldn’t want to listen to the same song over and over, so I will just be doing a variety, and then giving you recomended links! Yahoo. The way this will work is I will choose 3-4 covers that really like. I will post the name of the song, the original singer and a link to the original song if I can find it. Then I will list the artists covering the song, and you can reach their youtube pages by clicking their names!

So, this is week 1. I hope you enjoy

Down – Originally by Jay Sean, coverd by Aj Rafael and Ahmir, with Andrew Rhim on guitar

Additonal covers:

Kat Badar and Chris Caawayhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6tvEw5Bubhk

TiffanyAlvord : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHX5teyWog8&feature=related

KurtHugoSchneider : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-vorcTAHGQ&feature=related

Poker Face – Lady Gaga. Cover by Esnathesinger

Additonal Covers:

Lady Gaga herself (great acoutsic version) – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lM3HYSxPnlA

JenniferJChunghttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2EnPlDoKEc8

Straight outta compton – NWA (explicit lyrics) Covered by jaybrannan (cover of Nina Gordons version, with added bridge)

Well, I guess thats all for now!

If you haven’t seen this yet, watch!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 2:34 pm

    sarah thinks it’s strange, and I totally undertstand your point ! Actually they are sometuimes better “cover” versions as the original. And Poker Face by Lady Gaga herself is a great example…

    In France I discovered some songs by “covers” performed by candidates in the French American Idol. When I listened the actual version, I was sooo desappointed !

    I’m waiting for the other posts !

  2. March 26, 2010 2:35 pm

    (sorry for all the typing mistakes I made… :/)

  3. caseyjerk permalink*
    March 26, 2010 2:42 pm

    I know how you feel! I hate when I hear a cover, and then listen to the original and it’s actually bad. But it just goes to show what talented people can do!

    P.s. There were hardly any typing mistakes😀

  4. Stud permalink
    March 26, 2010 5:02 pm

    Check out these Outkast and Weezer Cover.

  5. caseyjerk permalink*
    March 26, 2010 5:04 pm

    The second, Julia Nunes, she is awesome. I found her a while ago, but haven’t seen this one! thanks

    Addition: That first guy is great. This is the kind of stuff I love!

  6. Anonymous permalink
    March 26, 2010 6:46 pm

    You quoted me! It’s like I’m famous now haha

Leave a Reply

