Skip to content

The iPad: what the hell?

April 9, 2010

So, for those of you know that know me, you know I don’t like Apple products. I totally respect Apple – they revolutionized the idea of mp3 players etc., but I am just uncomfortable with their products. I think it’s just that I don’t feel like I can personally customize their products, whether physically or virtually – a lot of stuff is locked in, like having to use iTunes etc. (If you are wondering what I use for mp3 player, creative all the way! Although currently I have a sansa fuze because I left my creative on a plane in Switzerland:/ )

But anyways, the iPad. What the hell? I really, really don’t understand why people are so amped to use this thing. Seriously though, any way you look at it, its almost a step backwards. It’s either a really big cell phone without the ability to call (iTouch anyone?) or a damn laptop without a keyboard. There was a tweet from @RainnWilson (Dwight from the office) and it said “I wish my iPad were smaller and made calls, or that it folded up and had a keyboard attached.” Haha love it

Via apple.com “iPad – a magical and revolutionary product at an unbelieveable price. Starting at $499” . What? Magical? Revolutionary? Maybe magical and revolutionary in the sense that you are getting people to pay a ridiculous price for a product they dont need.

But really though, hats off to Apple for creating a product that no one needs but a vast majority of people want. Check out this quick video from college humor – its exactly how I feel .

Also this video is great: http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1932167

In addition to ths iPad being annoying, what is more annoying is having to hear about it constantly from all the feeds I subscribe to on google reader. Seriously, if I search “iPad” in my reader, there are over 700 articles that mention the dumb device, and that is only since January. Even worse is that about 300 of them are since the beginning of April alone. Basically everyone is jumping on the bandwagon, making apps, holders, and other iPad compatable gear. You can’t blame them though, companies have to follow the trends, no matter how dumb it is.

So what do you guys think about the iPad, do you want one? Think it is actually innovative? I myself wouldn’t mind toying around with it, and I wouldn’t turn it down if it was free (I love free stuff) but I would never pay any money for it. Especially not 500 dollars.

Comment!


7 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan Finger permalink
    April 9, 2010 11:27 am

    As much of an Apple fan as I am, I agree with you that the iPad is a useless product to both you and me. Like you said, there are those people out there who will drop $500 just to have the lastest thing from Apple or just because they can. I watched a videon CNN the other day from the Apple Store and this guy said that he’s such an Apple fan that he doesn’t know why he needs the iPad, he just knows that Apple tells him he needs it so they they must know better. haha I love it. I read an article the other day that people from Asia flew over to bring them back to sell in Hong Kong and Shanghai. One group of people from Hong Kong bought over 200 of them to sell at 60-70% mark-up from the price they bought it for in San Francisco. They were sold out the first day they got back from the airport! Like you said…gotta hand it to Apple for coming up with a product that people want based on a reputation they have from past products. So…innovative, no. Genius, yes.

  2. Tim Erps permalink
    April 9, 2010 12:47 pm

    I personally just don’t understand who this is marketed to. I was originally thinking it was targeted towards the netbook market, but it lacks the features to do so well. Then I was thinking it was marketed towards the older crowd, as the simplicity and ease of use would cater to a light computer user like my Grandma. However it seems the heavy tech people are the ones who are actually buying this device.
    IPhone OS 4.0 is coming out today and introducing Bluetooth keyboard support for the IPad and IPhone, therefore fixing some of the woes of not having a keyboard, but now you need to pay even more money for a bluetooth keyboard and bring that around with you.
    I feel like this is mostly a novelty item, you don’t really need one and something will do the job better, but all the cool kids will have them. Just the same way Apple worked the IPhone market.

  3. Lisa Albert permalink
    April 9, 2010 2:31 pm

    Yeah I just don’t get it either. But I think you will effing love the Windows 7 phone coming out this year. Its boss. And I’m not just sayin that cause I work for Microsoft haha!

    I love Apple products but it kinda bugs me how each application on any Apple product is disconnected from the other applications. You can’t see a contact and their facebook page and pictures of them you have stored on your phone all at the same time.
    With the Windows 7 phone each application is integrated with each other. So when you go to look at contacts you see the contacts picture, their facebook/ twitter status, texts, everything all in one! AND there is Xbox on the phone! ugh I gotta get me one of these.

    Check out this article (I love gizmodo):
    http://gizmodo.com/5471805/windows-phone-7-series-everything-is-different-now

  4. April 9, 2010 2:48 pm

    First off, let me just say Casey it is soooooooo refreshing to here you say that you are a Creative user! I love Creative products and having been writing papers for years on how Creative should improve its marketing strategy. Even though I do currently have an iTouch (I didn’t buy it, it was a present and it has more Gigs, and I refuse to call it an iPod Touch), Creative will always hold a place in my heart and I still correct people who try to use iPod synonymous with MP3 players. Also Rainn Wilson is hilarious! I love his tweets.

    Second, I’m going to have to completely agree with the two above comments. I too thought it would be closer to a netbook, just without the keyboard, but you can’t multi-task and you can’t watch flash videos with account for 70% of content online. Why would I want that? What would I use it for that I can’t already do with my iTouch that so easily fits into my pockets. Plus the increase in the apps prices just irks me. Anyway, overall, unless they change a lot about this product, I see no point for it and hopefully it will eventually fad.

    Though I, like many other, do enjoy discussing this product even if I don’t like it. Haha, it’s a terrible contradiction.

    Also, Casey, I think you’ll get a kick out of this iPad video (if you haven’t already seen it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-zaf_VH2kQ&NR=1

  5. dan pino permalink
    April 9, 2010 2:48 pm

    i have to hand it to apple. they created a product so cool and fun looking that i want one so badly, even though i know its a useless piece of crap. the only thing that intrigues me about the ipad is the way gaming on the platform will change. games custom to the ipad will be a lot of fun and look great, and could theoretically take a big chunk from sony and nintendo out of the handheld gaming market, but only if the ipad were to drop significantly in price. if it were 150, or maybe even 200 bucks, i might consider buying one for gaming alone, as long as it did all the other stuff too.

    but until then, i feel like this is what rich and cool people are gunna have on their coffee tables instead of books that make them look intelligent that they never read

  6. caseyjerk permalink*
    April 9, 2010 3:25 pm

    @finger – thats a crazy amount of profit that those people made, and its so smart too. and yeah really as much as I look at the iPad and am like wtf was apple thinking, they created so much hype that it will sell and they will make bank – as usual

    @tim – i think it’s a novelty item as well, the whole touch screen idea is still new to people and they are still in love with it. it works better on paper that in does in practice though, having used touch screens for typing I get frustrated and just want something I can press!

    @lisa – way to name drop. lol jk, the Windows 7 phone looks pretty sick! I would love to have it I think lol, but it will prob be out of my price rangeeee😦 either way it seems cooler than the iTouch

    @Laura – CREATIVE! awesome I love finding fellow creative fans! I have to say that recently they have been a little disappointing, but soon they are going to come out with the Zii egg I believe, its already out but for developers only, and it looks sick. Basically an iTouch, but creative style awesomeness haha. and that video is awesome! It really says something when SO many people are making fun of a product.
    p.s. check our this site for all creative new http://www.epizenter.net

    @pino – for gaming i guess it could seem cool, but it just doesnt seem convenient. You cant really game with anyone else, and as slim as it is I still wouldnt consider it a portable gaming system – i cant imagine someone walking down the street using it haha.

  7. April 9, 2010 3:59 pm

    Give in to your google overlords. If this product had Android it would be worth considering. I still would not get one because there is really nothing a “pad” does that isn’t covered by my cell phone and laptop.

Leave a Reply

