Skip to content

Weekend Project – Pinhole Camera

May 21, 2010

So this weekend I have decided to try and make a pinhole camera! Basically pinhole camera’s are the most basic form of camera, with some ordinary camera film, and a little contraption that lets you be able to control a shutter to capture a photo. The photos that are made seem really cool, and all retro – and let’s be honest, who doesn’t love retro.

I got the idea for the pinhole camera from Gizmodo, who is actually having a competition for taking a photo with one of these cameras. Here is the competition: Gizmodo . They were nice enough to give us links to two different tutorials for making the camera, and it really doesn’t seem to hard. I am going to go for the not-as-nice-looking one, just because my resources are limited here in La France, and I don’t feel like trekking to a million different stores to find stuff.

Here is the camera I am going to make attempt to make.

All I need is this stuff. Not sure where I’ll find that binder thing though…

So wish me luck, and I will try and post photos here of my camera, and then copies of the pictures I take!

Here is what the pics can look like: http://www.flickr.com/photos/dippold/4536138426/in/set-72157623767533397/

and then these :”http://www.flickr.com/photos/alspix/sets/72157605363992643/

I’m super pumped to do this, hopefully I don’t lame out. Ha!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. KateFox permalink
    May 24, 2010 7:24 pm

    I can get you the binder thing from my work tomorrow if you still need one!

  2. May 25, 2010 1:55 pm

    I’m really waiting for the results !!!🙂

    My brother used to do that. It was awesome !

  3. caseyjerk permalink*
    May 25, 2010 2:12 pm

    Haha! I took so many photos yesterday, but I just don’t know how many are left because you can’t really tell. Hopefully I will take the rest tonight and get it developed tomorrow

Leave a Reply

