Skip to content

New age marketing is fun and weird!

June 18, 2010

I really like the new direction that marketing is going in. The whole “viral video” world really intrigues me. I call it the viral video world because I think that’s where new age marketing was born. In order for videos to go viral, they have to really grab attention – and a majority of advertisers go in the comedy / weird direction in order to do this. I love it.

I don’t have any cool viral videos for you today, because that’s not what I am here to talk about. I wanted to talk about some of the other methods that companies are using to reach their customers. One of the newest ways to get visibilty is to use twitter. Chupa chups decided to go one step further and create a twitter account for its mascot Chupa Chuck.
chuck,chupa chuck,chupa chups,life less serious

Now this doll scares the crap out of me. Sure it’s funny, and the videos he are in are also very cute / funny (viral videos!)

But come on, you have to admit he is creepy. Anywho, we have one of these guys in our office, and the other day I tweeted

To which a friend asked why, and I said

So I thought that was the end of it. Much to my horror (delight) I got an email this morning :

AHHHHH he found me! LOL. So I guess that Chupa Chups created a twitter for Chupa Chuck to promote their website http://chuckscup2010.com/ . I looked at his wall and it had some pretty funny comments – as if it were actually Chupa Chuck talking. Just some funny comments then here and there a link to the site. So I wanted to see if I could get a conversation going with Chuck. First though I had to express my horror:

And then, Chuck responds. And creeps the hell out of me. But makes me laugh so hard at the same time:

LOL WHAT THE HELL. Too funny though. Then there was one more little tidbit. Another co-worker joined in.

Well played Chupa Chuck, well played.

Chupa Chups has definitely gotten my attention with this little guy, and I like them more as company now. (Not that I had an opinion about them to begin with).

So everyone should follow @chupachuck and have fun.

Also check out the pics we took of chuck with a vuvuzela! haha

http://yfrog.com/j0mgwzj

http://yfrog.com/4

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 4:15 pm

    I definitely LOVE this post !!!!

    And I love Chupa Chuck… Even if he’s a kind of weird….!

  2. June 27, 2013 7:53 pm

    It’s an remarkable paragraph in support of all the web people; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

  3. July 8, 2013 5:21 am

    It’s very trouble-free to find out any matter on web as compared to textbooks, as I found this piece of writing at this web page.

  4. August 1, 2013 11:50 pm

    It’s an remarkable article for all the web users; they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.

Trackbacks

  1. PuppetVision » Monster Factory

Leave a Reply

